01305 239839

01305 239839

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages

New Mayor of Weymouth and Deputy Mayor elected

Cllr Kate Wheller has been elected as the new Mayor of Weymouth at the annual council meeting (Wednesday 10th May), with Cllr Alex Fuhrmann elected as Deputy Mayor.

Outgoing Mayor Cllr Ann Weaving and outgoing Deputy Mayor Cllr Tia Roos were both thanked for all their hard work over the previous year by the incoming Mayor.

Cllr Ann Weaving was described as a terrific ambassador for the town and during a short speech she expressed her thanks to everyone who has supported her as Mayor, saying it was ‘her happiest year’.

Newly elected Mayor Kate, who lives in Wyke Regis, said: “I am delighted to take on the prestigious role of Mayor of Weymouth, and will relish the opportunity to promote our scenic coastal town to residents and visitors alike during my year in office.

“As one of the first of many public engagements I will carry out, I will be hosting the Annual Town Assembly at 1pm at the Community Expo on Saturday 20th May at the Jubilee Clock. It promises to be a terrific event which will be a great opportunity to meet different members of the community and find out more about Weymouth Town Council services and the role of the Mayor. Everyone is welcome to come along and discuss the town and ideas for the future.”

Other elections which took place on the night include:

Cllr David Harris was re-elected as Council Leader, with Cllr Luke Wakeling was elected as Deputy Leader.

The following councillors were nominated to serve as Committee Chairs and will be confirmed at the next respective committee meetings:

Cllr Ryan Hope – Chair of Services Committee.

Cllr Peter Dickenson – Chair of the Planning & Licensing Committee.

Cllr Colin Huckle – Chair of the HR Committee.

Cllr Howard Legg – Chair of the Appeals Committee.

Cllr Pete Barrow – Chair of Finance & Governance Committee.

Champions were also elected, including Cllr Gill Taylor as Community Champion, and Cllr Christine James as Armed Forces Covenant Champion, along with Cllr Matt Bell who was elected to the new role of Sports and Activities Champion.


Notes to Editors

The latest information and updates from Weymouth Town Council can be found on the website, Facebook, and Twitter pages.